Athens State Orchestra – Lukas Karytinos – Daniil Trifonov
Works by Koumendakis, Rachmaninoff, Shostakovich

If there is a contemporary pianist who can be regarded as a worthy heir to the great stars of the golden age of piano, then Daniil Trifonov fits the description. The electrifying virtuosity and deep expressive power of his signature style guarantee a riveting performance of Rachmaninoff’s timeless Piano Concerto No. 2. The Athens State Orchestra will also present Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 9 under the baton of established conductor Lukas Karytinos, also known as Shostakovich’s “classical” symphony due to its density, clarity, and freshness. The concert will come to a close with the spellbinding The Pedal Tone for a Child by Giorgos Koumendakis, inspired by the invaluable Byzantine music tradition.


Giorgos Koumendakis (b. 1959)
The Pedal Tone for a Child

Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943)
Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18
Moderato Ι Adagio sostenuto Ι Allegro Scherzando

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)
Symphony No. 9 in E-flat major, Op. 70
Allegro Ι Moderato Ι Presto Ι Largo Ι Allegretto

Due to the ongoing pandemic, all performance dates are subject to change