Constantinos Hadjis – Giorgos Koumendakis – Sophia Hill

Clytemnestra, Chamber Music for One Instrument
Based on Aeschylus’ Agamemnon 

The history of humanity as an endless war narrative, as a poignant portrait of our world, drawing on the choral parts of Agamemnon and Clytemnestra’s monologues. Sophia Hill serves as the lone performer, at the centre of the stage, in dialogue with Giorgos Koumendakis’ new musical work. Minimalist approach and the language of tragedy to the sounds of yaylı tanbur (performed by Evgenios Voulgaris) and piano (played by director Constantinos Hadjis) unfold in a landscape made up of riveting photos by award-winning activist photographer Sebastião Salgado.

With English surtitles.

Greek surtitles on opening night.

Due to the ongoing pandemic, all performance dates are subject to change

Duration 55'

Peiraios 260 (E)

  • 16/06/2021 at 22:30
  • 17/06/2021 at 21:00


View Press Kit

Peiraios 260

all venues