Athens State Orchestra – Lionel Bringuier – Mischa Maisky
Works by Evangelatos, Dvořák, Rachmaninoff

The concert opens with one of the most important symphonic works of Antiochos Evangelatos, promiment representative of the National School of Music. Subsequently, legendary cellist Mischa Maisky performs the epic Cello Concerto by Czech Romantic composer Antonín Dvořák. In the second part of the concert, up-and-coming French conductor Lionel Bringuier conducts Rachmaninoff’s epic, timeless, and popular Symphony No. 2, the crown in the jewel of his symphonic work.


Antiochos Evangelatos (1903-1981)

Overture to a Drama


Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)

Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104


Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943)

Symphony No. 2, in E minor, Op. 27